A Centenary of Astrophysical Jets: Observation, Theory, and Future Prospects

SKA Global Headquarters

SKA Global Headquarters

Jodrell Bank Observatory, Cheshire, UK

We are excited to announce the opening of registration for the conference 'A Centenary of Astrophysical Jets: Observation, Theory, and Future Prospects', kindly hosted by the SKA at the SKAO HQ, Jodrell Bank Observatory, Cheshire, United Kingdom.

Since the first description of an observation of an astrophysical jet, by Heber D. Curtis (Curtis 1918; Descriptions of 762 nebulae and clusters, Pub. Lick Observatory 13, 9), countless jets of high-energy particles from compact objects such as neutron-stars and galactic black holes through to the highly collimated relativistic jets in AGNs have been observed and studied across a wide range of physical systems and scales. In addition to energy, momentum and mass transport from a compact source to its close and/or distant environment, jet outflows serve as laboratories for probing the physics of energetic processes, and are implicated in the regulation of large-scale structure in the Universe. Jet studies are among the key drivers of current and future astronomical surveys.

With advancement in multi-messenger astronomy, theory, and state-of-the-art simulations in recent years, our knowledge and understanding of jets have received a significant boost. However, in spite of recent progress from theory, simulations, and observations, there are many open questions about the formation, collimation, and acceleration of jets. Very recent evidence of the association between IceCube neutrinos and a blazar, for example, could have important implications for the composition of AGN jets.

This conference will bring together multi-wavelength observers and theorists to review the progress made over the past century in our attempts to understand jets on all scales and to discuss the prospects for future research on jets at a time when major new facilities, such as SKA and JWST, are on the horizon. 

Confirmed Invited Speakers:

  • Keiichi Asada (ASIAA, Taiwan)
  • Mitch Begelman (Colorado, USA)
  • Vasily Beskin (Lebedev Physical Inst. & MIPT, Russia)
  • Geoff Bicknell (ANU, Australia)
  • Mark Birkinshaw (Bristol, UK)
  • Sara Buson (Würzburg, Germany)
  • Annalisa Celotti (SISSA, Italy)
  • Chris Done (Durham, UK)
  • Martin Hardcastle (Hertfordshire, UK)
  • Jim Hinton (MPI-Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Serguei Komissarov (Leeds, UK)
  • Robert Laing (SKAO, UK) 
  • James Matthews (Oxford, UK)
  • Eileen Meyer (UMBC, USA)
  • Raffaella Morganti (ASTRON, Netherlands)
  • Masanori Nakamura (ASIAA, Taiwan)
  • Ramesh Narayan (Harvard CfA, USA)
  • Manel Perucho (Valencia, Spain)
  • Stas Shabala (Tasmania, Australia)
  • Diana Worrall (Bristol, UK)

(Italics indicate where a speaker has confirmed since first announcement)

LIVE STREAM: astrojets100/livestream/

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/astrojets100/

Twitter page: https://twitter.com/astrojets100/

  • Adam Harvey
  • Agnieszka Janiuk
  • Agnieszka Kuźmicz
  • Akhil Turai
  • Aleksandr Popkov
  • Andrei Lobanov
  • Aneta Siemiginowska
  • Ankur Chaubey
  • Anna Lisa Celotti
  • Anna Wójtowicz
  • Arka Chatterjee
  • Arti Goyal
  • Beatriz Mingo
  • Bonny Barkus
  • Brendan Webster
  • Bruno Jiménez Fernández
  • Cameron Rulten
  • Christian Fromm
  • christine done
  • Christopher Irwin
  • Christopher Kaye
  • Christopher White
  • Clive Tadhunter
  • Daria Zobnina
  • Davide Lena
  • Denise Gabuzda
  • Derek Cowey
  • Dhruba Saikia
  • Diana Worrall
  • Dylan Bollen
  • Efthalia Traianou
  • Eileen Meyer
  • Eleni Vardoulaki
  • Eliot Ayache
  • Emanuele Sobacchi
  • Emma Alexander
  • Emmanuel Bempong-Manful
  • Felix Mirabel
  • Frederick Richardson
  • Gabriele Bruni
  • Garret Cotter
  • Geoffrey Bicknell
  • Gibwa Musoke
  • Habtamu Gamachu
  • Hendrik van Eerten
  • Herman Marshall
  • Ian Browne
  • Ioannis Myserlis
  • Jae-Young Kim
  • James Hinton
  • James Matthews
  • Jamie Davies
  • Jeremy Harwood
  • Joe Jacob
  • John Quinn
  • Jonathon Pierce
  • Jose Sabater Montes
  • Joydeep Bagchi
  • Karthik Balasubramanaiam
  • Katarzyna Rusinek
  • Katie Hesterly
  • Keiichi Asada
  • Krzysztof Nalewajko
  • Le Duc Thong
  • Lena Linhoff
  • Leonid Petrov
  • Mahadev Pandge
  • Maitrayee Gupta
  • majid nouhi kararoudi
  • Manel Perucho Pla
  • Marek Sikora
  • Mark Birkinshaw
  • Markos Georganopoulos
  • Martin Hardcastle
  • Martin Krause
  • Masanori Nakamura
  • Matthew Alger
  • Max Harvey
  • Minfeng Gu
  • Miranda Jarvis
  • Mitchell Begelman
  • Natalia Zywucka-Hejzner
  • Nectaria Gizani
  • Nicholas MacDonald
  • noor masdiana md said
  • NURIA Alvarez Crespo
  • Paddy Leahy
  • Paul Morris
  • Paula Chadwick
  • Philippa Hartley
  • Pratik Dabhade
  • Raffaella Morganti
  • Ralph Spencer
  • Ramesh Narayan
  • Ranieri Diego Baldi
  • Rob Beswick
  • Robert Laing
  • Sara Buson
  • Sean Mooney
  • Sebastian Knuettel
  • Serguei Komissarov
  • Simone Mender
  • Stanislav Shabala
  • Taiki Ogihara
  • Tanmoy Laskar
  • Tim Cawthorne
  • Tomohisa Kawashima
  • Tushar Mondal
  • Vasily Beskin
  • Vijay Mahatma
  • Wlodek Kluzniak
  • Yongjun Chen
  • Yuh Tsunetoe
  • Zhen Yan
  • Zolile Mguda
  • Zulema Abraham
The agenda of this meeting is empty
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now