A Centenary of Astrophysical Jets: Observation, Theory, and Future Prospects

SKA Global Headquarters

SKA Global Headquarters

Jodrell Bank Observatory, Cheshire, UK

We are excited to announce the opening of registration for the conference 'A Centenary of Astrophysical Jets: Observation, Theory, and Future Prospects', kindly hosted by the SKA at the SKAO HQ, Jodrell Bank Observatory, Cheshire, United Kingdom.

Since the first description of an observation of an astrophysical jet, by Heber D. Curtis (Curtis 1918; Descriptions of 762 nebulae and clusters, Pub. Lick Observatory 13, 9), countless jets of high-energy particles from compact objects such as neutron-stars and galactic black holes through to the highly collimated relativistic jets in AGNs have been observed and studied across a wide range of physical systems and scales. In addition to energy, momentum and mass transport from a compact source to its close and/or distant environment, jet outflows serve as laboratories for probing the physics of energetic processes, and are implicated in the regulation of large-scale structure in the Universe. Jet studies are among the key drivers of current and future astronomical surveys.

With advancement in multi-messenger astronomy, theory, and state-of-the-art simulations in recent years, our knowledge and understanding of jets have received a significant boost. However, in spite of recent progress from theory, simulations, and observations, there are many open questions about the formation, collimation, and acceleration of jets. Very recent evidence of the association between IceCube neutrinos and a blazar, for example, could have important implications for the composition of AGN jets.

This conference will bring together multi-wavelength observers and theorists to review the progress made over the past century in our attempts to understand jets on all scales and to discuss the prospects for future research on jets at a time when major new facilities, such as SKA and JWST, are on the horizon. 

Confirmed Invited Speakers:

  • Keiichi Asada (ASIAA, Taiwan)
  • Mitch Begelman (Colorado, USA)
  • Vasily Beskin (Lebedev Physical Inst. & MIPT, Russia)
  • Geoff Bicknell (ANU, Australia)
  • Mark Birkinshaw (Bristol, UK)
  • Sara Buson (Würzburg, Germany)
  • Annalisa Celotti (SISSA, Italy)
  • Chris Done (Durham, UK)
  • Martin Hardcastle (Hertfordshire, UK)
  • Jim Hinton (MPI-Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Serguei Komissarov (Leeds, UK)
  • Robert Laing (SKAO, UK) 
  • James Matthews (Oxford, UK)
  • Eileen Meyer (UMBC, USA)
  • Raffaella Morganti (ASTRON, Netherlands)
  • Masanori Nakamura (ASIAA, Taiwan)
  • Ramesh Narayan (Harvard CfA, USA)
  • Manel Perucho (Valencia, Spain)
  • Stas Shabala (Tasmania, Australia)
  • Diana Worrall (Bristol, UK)

(Italics indicate where a speaker has confirmed since first announcement)

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/astrojets100/

Twitter page: https://twitter.com/astrojets100/

Registration for A Centenary of Astrophysical Jets conference
  • Agnieszka Janiuk
  • Agnieszka Kuźmicz
  • Aleksandr Popkov
  • Aneta Siemiginowska
  • Ankur Chaubey
  • Anna Lisa Celotti
  • Anna Wójtowicz
  • Arka Chatterjee
  • Arti Goyal
  • Beatriz Mingo
  • Bonny Barkus
  • Bruno Jiménez Fernández
  • Cameron Rulten
  • Chris Kaye
  • christine done
  • Christopher Kaye
  • Clive Tadhunter
  • Daria Zobnina
  • Davide Lena
  • Denise Gabuzda
  • Diana Worrall
  • Dylan Bollen
  • Efthalia Traianou
  • Eileen Meyer
  • Eleni Vardoulaki
  • Eliot Ayache
  • Emma Alexander
  • Emmanuel Bempong-Manful
  • Evgeniya Kravchenko
  • Felix Mirabel
  • Frederick Richardson
  • Gabriele Bruni
  • Garret Cotter
  • Geoffrey Bicknell
  • Gibwa Musoke
  • Guilherme Couto
  • Habtamu Gamachu
  • Hendrik van Eerten
  • Herman Marshall
  • Ian Browne
  • Ilya Pashchenko
  • Ioannis Myserlis
  • James Hinton
  • James Matthews
  • Jeremy Harwood
  • Joe Jacob
  • John Quinn
  • Jonathon Pierce
  • Joydeep Bagchi
  • Katarzyna Rusinek
  • Katie Hesterly
  • Keiichi Asada
  • Krzysztof Nalewajko
  • Le Duc Thong
  • Lena Linhoff
  • Mahadev Pandge
  • Maitrayee Gupta
  • Manel Perucho Pla
  • Marek Sikora
  • Mark Birkinshaw
  • Martin Hardcastle
  • Martin Krause
  • Masanori Nakamura
  • Matthew Alger
  • Max Harvey
  • Minfeng Gu
  • Mitchell Begelman
  • Natalia Zywucka-Hejzner
  • Nectaria Gizani
  • Nicholas MacDonald
  • Paddy Leahy
  • Paula Chadwick
  • Philippa Hartley
  • Pratik Dabhade
  • Raffaella Morganti
  • Rahna P T
  • Ralph Spencer
  • Ramesh Narayan
  • Ranieri Diego Baldi
  • Rob Beswick
  • Robert Laing
  • Sara Buson
  • Sean Mooney
  • Sebastian Knuettel
  • Serguei Komissarov
  • Simone Mender
  • Stanislav Shabala
  • Taiki Ogihara
  • Tim Cawthorne
  • Tomohisa Kawashima
  • Tushar Mondal
  • Vasily Beskin
  • Vijay Mahatma
  • Wlodek Kluzniak
  • Yongjun Chen
  • Yuh Tsunetoe
  • Zhen Yan
  • Zulema Abraham
The agenda of this meeting is empty
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now